Who Would Have Known?

Leave a comment

January 15, 2013 by hightideanddusk

Every once in a while there is a stirring in me to write a song, an urge so strong I feel like I’m going to go crazy if I don’t put pen to paper and my fingers on the guitar strings. 

Lately I have been battling within myself over what I do and whether it means anything. I want my life to change the world, so why do I feel like so much of my time is spent fiddling around joining dots rather than colouring in the big picture? 

Image

It wasn’t until my Grandma replied to a news filled email I’d written her, reminding me of the time I’d won a couple of prizes writing film reviews, that the light switched on. What do I love? Words. What do I do most of the time? Read and write in my journal/write songs. What am I consistently good at? Writing!

Who would have known how one small reminder from an awesome Grandma could change my life forever. I feel a fresh sense of purpose and excitement about how I spend my time and what I can do with these words and phrases that so rudely interrupt my thoughts. Maybe I can change the world through my words, maybe I can leave this sphere of water and earth a different place because I care about sharing the truth with the people around me and people miles away in the blogosphere. 

My future starts when I wake up every morning. Every day I find something creative to do with my life.” – Miles Davis

Leave a Reply

