Natural Skin Care Product Reviews

2

July 11, 2013 by hightideanddusk

Rightio! I haven’t written about natural skincare and etc. for a while so here is an insight into what I use daily and some products that I would/wouldn’t recommend.

Beauty Routine:

I wash my face twice a day, morning and evening, with a homemade honey face wash (recipe below). Then I tone with a Lush Tea Tree Toner, and moisturise with a Sukin’s Facial Moisturiser.  Because my skin is combination I get very dry patches on my cheeks, so I use an oil based product like Coconut Oil, or a Honey & Beeswax Balm to help hydrate them.

Other than that, I very rarely do anything else with my skin. Occasionally a face mask, but very rarely.

My Thoughts on Products I’ve Used Recently:

Firstly the honey face wash. If you want to try some (I would highly recommend it!!!) here is the recipe: 1/2 cup of honey, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon nutmeg. Just mix together and store in a container in the bathroom. The only downside is that during the summer ants love this! So maybe keep it in your fridge.

Lush Tea Tree Toner – This is the best toner I’ve found so far, having tried apple cider vinegar diluted with water (bad smell and overly astringent, even when diluted) for a few days with no success. It smells nice, isn’t too strong, and makes my face feel fresh and tingly. However, I think it’s drying my skin out so for the next wee while I’ll be dropping it from my routine.

Sukin Facial Moisturiser – Oh my! I love this moisturiser so much! Not only does it smell amazing (can you tell I love smells??!) but it is free of many nasty chemicals found in most moisturisers. The lotion is quite light and soaks in quickly so I often apply it twice. What’s more, it only costs $12.50 from my local health store! Score! (Most ‘natural’ moisturisers are upwards of $30-$50, if not more).

Organic Coconut Oil – One of my favourite products. I use it to moisturise my skin, and apparently it’s also edible. The only downside to using it as a moisturiser (face or body) is that the harsh Kiwi sun can fry your skin if you’re not careful.

Another product I use for a moisturiser is the Tui Balm range. Made in Golden Bay for over 28 years it is great for all sorts of purposes. Lip balm, body balm, massage balm, wound balms….the olive oil, honey and other yummy ingredients make it really safe for extensive use.

Lush Solid Shampoo & Fresh Farmacy – As much as I once loved Lush, my recent purchases have made me hesitate slightly and reconsider what actually goes into their products. On the whole they have some great products, but a lot of their key ingredients are ones that are potentially dangerous after long term use. Both the shampoo and the face cleanser (Fresh Farmacy) are chocka full of Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, my long time enemy. Lauryl Sulfate strips the skin, irritates the skin and is dangerous for your eyes. And though the cleanser was sold to me as being the most gentle solid cleanser, it really damaged my skin.

The shampoo was also very drying and left my hair feeling stringy and dry. So I would not recommend either products AND…

ALWAYS READ YOUR PRODUCT LABELS!

Other than that, I pretty much don’t use anything else. I’m currently looking into making my own make up, but I’m far more slack about what ingredients are in my make up. Vain? Probably, but oh well. One step at a time!

If you have any questions just ask awaaaaay 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Natural Skin Care Product Reviews

  1. skin aging says:

    Good replies in return of this query with solid arguments and telling the whole thing on
    the topic of that.

  2. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think
    about worries that they just do not know about. You managed
    to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a comment